Some people who have been in prison become good citizens later, and it is often argued that these are the best people to talk to teenagers about the dangers of committing a crime. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some prisoners have rehabilitated after being discharged and become exemplary citizens. While I agree that asking them to talk to school students is a good education method, I also believe that there are better alternatives to warn the adolescences about the dangers of committing crimes. It is true that reformed offenders can tell young people about how they involved in crime, the dangers of a criminal lifestyle, and what life in prison is like, which mean children would be deterred from lawbreaking activities and may become productive citizens in the future. However, this way of learning may generate a tendency of imitating these kinds of illegal acts in teenagers' mind, especially who are lack of maturity and awareness. Furthermore, it cannot be guaranteed that ex-prisoners have completely got rid of their inner desire to perform such activities again, so I believe that they are not role models for teenagers. There are more effective ways to raise teenagers' awareness than learning from ex-offenders. One option would be for police officers to visit schools and talk to young people. It can be denied that figures of authority are more acknowledging about prestigious law than ex-prisoners. They can tell schoolchildren about so many criminal cases and appropriated punishments which can create a strong influence on children and result in an innate fear in them to involve any criminal activities. In conclusion, I do support the view that people who have turned their lives around after serving a prison sentence could help teenagers stay away from committing crimes but I believe that the idea of using figures of authority to deter school children is more appropriate.