Most people have forgotten the meaning behind traditional or religious festivals: during festival periods, people nowadays only want to enjoy themselves. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Some people feel that nowadays, hardly can we find people who remember the concept of religious festivals and also they believe, these people participate in these celebrations just for entertainment. While I agree with this idea that enjoyment seems to be the priority to the people, I disagree with that the meaning behind traditional festivals is forgotten by people. On the one hand, it is true that plenty of people sound very eager to attend the traditional events exclusively for having a pleasant time. A good example of this fact is Christmas which is preformed by a lot of people in all over the world and owing to it, most of the people are concerned with shopping, decorating their home and giving or receiving presents. So as a result, many people look forward to Christmas as a holiday time, rather than a religious event. At the top of that, this fact is true too for non-religious celebrations such as Bonfire night. For instance, numerous people have taken part in this occasion because of watching the firework display and having fun with each other and in other words, enjoyment is a person’s primary goal. However, in my opinion, people always have been aware of the meaning of religious and traditional celebrations. One of the clearest examples of this fact is that we can see a lot of courses in the schools which are taught many reasons of these events for children and shown them why we have performed and taken part in these occasions. For example, in late December, students sing Christmas songs, which have a religious content, every year. In addition, families also play an important role in passing knowledge of the religious festivals of the present and upcoming generation. For instance, they tell a lot of religious and traditional story, such as the story of Jesus birth, to their kids every night. So generally we can see most of the people learn these religious concepts at an early age. So, it is an unfeasible fact that these traditional festivals are meaningless to the people. In conclusion, although many people have enjoyed during these festivals and mainly wanted to take part of these celebrations just for fun, I think the meaning of these occasions can not can not cannot be forgotten.