These days it is very common to have people from two different generations mix in the same workplace. Are there more advantages or disadvantages to this situation?

Nowadays, in many organizations, two different generations are working together. In my view, the advantage of this trend far outweighs its disadvantage as the knowledge would be shared and enhanced. There are many advantages to the working with the older and younger generation in the same workplace. One of them is sharing and enhancing knowledge. To elucidate, the older people have been working for many years, so their experience would give the chance to young people in order to gain experience, whereas, the younger people have unique ideas and good knowledge of advanced technology that they can share with the older people. Similarly, they will be expertly in using such new technology. For example, in the recent article by the Times of India revealed that in renowned company Google, senior employees who are above 50 years of age are found to be more supportive and sharing their knowledge, while fresher employees co-ordinate with them by sharing their current ideas. However, the predominant disadvantage of this development is having a poor relationship with each other. This is because, older employees feel more secure in their position, so they might not share all the information with younger employees and this will have not supported environment. Likewise, having a better degree, fresher could acquire a senior level in the organization and might order to employees who are older than their age, they would feel bad and reduce their morale. In conclusion, I believe that the advantage of having two different generations in the same workplace outweighs its drawbacks because the older people could share their techniques and knowledge to motivate the young people, whereas, the younger people will teach them the advance technology.