Studying art in school also improves students' performance in other subjects, because it is easier for multi-skilled students to learn new things. That's why art should be obligatory in schools. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that studying arts should be made compulsory in schools because it would improve the overall performance of the students and being multi-skilled, they can easily learn new things. However, I do not agree with this view and discuss it in the essay. One of the most important aspects of education is learning, and it cannot be imposed as compulsion to the children. The reason is that obligation leads to pressure, which might affect the students’ performance in other subjects too. For instance, some streams like science and engineering require a lot of concentration and hard work, and these students should not be forced to attend music or dance classes without their wish. Thus, children should not be pressurised to do something that they do not like as this would overburden them and affects their mental development and growth. Besides this, art studies are not a professional one, and one cannot obtain a high paying job immediately after completing their education. Moreover, it becomes sometimes difficult to earn a living by art enthusiastic people such as singers and painters during the initial stages of their career. Therefore, the obligation would not benefit anyone in any situation. Nevertheless, arts could be made optional, so that those who are interested can take it by their own wish and reap its benefits. This would not only help them gain social skills, but also making them creative and imaginary. In conclusion, although art studies would enhance social skills and creative thinking in pupils, I believe that it should not be made a compulsory part of their curriculum as forcing is naturally averse to humans, and it would do more harm than good.