Many people believe that social networking sites such as facebook have had huge negative impact on both individually and society. To what extent do you agree?

It is considered by many that social media websites have several detrimental effects on people and also on our society. However, I completely disagree and believe that it has tremendous benefits. Firstly, these have made communication much easier. Because of our busy schedule, we hardly get enough time to meet our friends and family on a regular basis. Furthermore, it is a common phenomena nowadays to move to a place far away from our hometown. Online communication is the only solution for such cases. People can speak with and see each other daily, even when they are miles apart. For example, as per a survey published in a leading magazine, the usage of Facebook Messenger is much higher in comparison with direct calling, in terms of everyday conversation. Thus, proving that those have made our world smaller, when it comes to socializing. Additionally, it can also be advantageous for society. Not only such websites spread a news faster, but also give a way a gift of public land or resources for the private gain of a limited group giveaway to express our opinions freely to the world. For instance, the story of the murder of a black man by a police officer in NewYork was shared millions of times and the entire world was protesting against such violent act, which would have been impossible without social media. Therefore, the positive effect on our community is also quite prevalent. In conclusion, even though some of us can point out the disadvantages of online portals where people can share content and chat, in my opinion, the advantages definitely eclipse the downsides. While on the one hand, these have kept us connected, on the other hand, have also encouraged us to be vocal and to speak out against oppression.