Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion

The need for profession applicants to provide sensitive and personal data has been debated more in recent times with a side arguing why this info are relevant and the other why it is unnecessary and unethical. In the process of hiring new employees, employers believe these personal materials go a long way in filling the vacant office roles, but on the other hand, advocates for privacy believe the collection of this data is not justifiable and can form a basis of bias against applicants. In my opinion, this tip is relevant to employers as it forms a part of the decision making in choosing the best candidate suitable for the job. Personal data, such as marital status, hobbies and interest help the employer to build a personality portrait for each seeker and this is then used to match the applicants to the desired profile required for the job. Often, data regarding educational qualifications and previous experiences are gathered from the resume and in some cases or certain position roles, this is insufficient to make a correct assessment of the applicant. An instance, an assignment requires constant travelling out of town, the desired job profile indicates that the best fit would be a person whose marital status is single or unmarried. This can only be known to the employer only if the applicant has provided that personal detail of his/her life. On the contrary, it is argued that the personal data collated from applicants can be misused and be a bias in the selection and with recent data breaches, the safety of the data is not guaranteed as it can fall into the wrong hands. Also, there have been cases where people’s personal information has been shared with third parties without the candidate’s consent. This therefore poses a threat to the applicants. In conclusion, the collection of sensitive material by employers from career applicants can be for good reason, in matching their profile to the expectations of the work. It is also important that applicants carry out due diligence to be sure employers are genuine and personal information if provided would be secured.