Many people prefer to watch foreign films rather than locally produced films. Why could this be? Should governments give more financial support to local film industries?

Foreign films are indeed more popular in many countries than domestically produced films. There were several reasons why and I think that governments should promote local films by subsidizing the industry. There are various reasons why many people find foreign films more enjoyable than films made in their own countries. Firstly, the established film industries in certain countries have big budgets for action and special effect scenes in spectacular locations. Hollywood blockbusters like Avatar and Jame Bond are examples of such productions and global appeal that they have. Another reason these big-budget films are so successful is that they often star the most famous actors and actresses and they were made by the accomplished directors and producers. Poor-quality and low budget filmmaking in many countries suffer in comparison. In my view, the government should support the local film industries financially. In every country, there are talented amateur filmmakers who just need to be given opportunities to prove themselves. To compete with big-budget productions from overseas, those people need money to pay film crews, actors, and a host of other costs related to producing high-quality films. If the governments did help these expenses, they would see an increase in employment in the movie industry, income from film sales, and perhaps even a rise in tourist numbers. New Zealand, for example, has seen an increase in tourism associated with the "Lord of the Rings" movies which are partly funded by government subsidies. In conclusion, I believe that could help to raise the quality of local film -making and allow them to compete with foreign productions that currently dominate the market.