Some people think that it is beneficial for children to do paid work, while others think that it can be harmful for children. What are the advantages and disadvantages of children doing paid work?

Although paid task is thought by some to be a useful experience for children, other people consider that it can be detrimental. Children can learn about earning a salary and gain independence from doing a paid task, but there are also drawbacks to be taken into account. Firstly, one benefit of children doing paid struggle is that they understand the value of cash. This also teaches them not to waste pay as they realise the production needed to earn it. Secondly, having a paid job is advantageous because children take their first steps in learning how to manage and save funds. Many older children, for instance, have a part time job in order to save up for something they would otherwise be unable to afford. Thirdly, working teaches children responsibility and independence. These skills help children to develop into self-supporting adults ready to enter society and the endeavour force. On the other hand, one problem, when children have a job is that it potentially exposes them to exploitation through slave labour. For example, in some developing countries children are made to task full time, but due to their age are not protected by law. As a result, they are paid negligible wages for an industry that can be tough, manual industry. Another possible issue is that the time children spend working prevents them from focusing on their school performance. Having a good education is the key to a successful future, so being employed as a child can result in a poor academic performance which can be harmful in the long run. In conclusion, while children can benefit from some trial experience, it can also lead to exploitation or lower grades at school.