Public celebrations (such as national days, festivals etc) are held in most countries. These are often quite expensive, and some people say that governments should spend money on more useful things. Do you agree or disagree?

Celebrations are a form of gathering, where the social meeting is held, delicious food is served and the duration is spent by the people gloriously, even by getting a leave on that day apart from weekends. However, these days which come once or twice a year should be enjoyed with full boom. Although, I disagree with the fact that those money spent on bringing charm to the city by the authorities are not a waste, but worth a penny, the cash needed to celebrate a festival should not be shifted for betterment of the city. This will be discussed in the ensuing paragraphs. Festivals bring happiness and colour to the monotonous daily life. Initially, if the authorities put a halt to make people happy by those celebrations, then there citizens would never be able to know the importance of such days. For example, there would not be spreading of any knowledge about the martyrs who gave up their lives for the society, as fifteen august is celebrated as Independence day, in remembrance of the salvation of great freedom fighters for the union. Another reason, to make use of economy of public happiness is, to make the people of the nation in one unit, who celebrate together even stay together at the times of crises and difficulties. For example, during situation of downpours, drought or earthquakes. On the contrary, the economy, wasted can be added for improving safety measures. However, those celebrations need not need great investment and can be celebrated at small scale. For example, the national day celebration at home when government addresses whole state of a television channel. To conclude, it is necessary for the government to spend over celebration of days for the importance of pupils, it is not a waste of money and for useful things, government always tries and provides it to the public.