In some countries, a high proportion of criminal acts are committed by teenagers. Why has this happened? What can be done to deal with this?

Over the last few decades, many cities around the world have seen alarming increases in the levels of crime. Of all the anti-social behaviours, why youth crimes are ever becoming more prevalent will be discussed, thus suggesting some possible solutions in the end. Juvenile delinquency originated from a number of intricate causes in a tangle. In the first place, as far as the backgrounds most of the young criminals belong to are considered, poor home environments, including domestic troubles or poverty seem to drive them into criminal acts, and they break the law for survival or rebellion against parental authority. For example, some children are so hungry that they cannot choose but involve themselves in petty offences such as stealing food or goods.  Another underlying factor of social decay in younger is, I believe, authoritarian school administration management. In other words, teachers at school had been blamed for not fully paying attention to kids who are undergoing an insecure, and vulnerable life stage. From a social perspective, the society has left youngsters exposed to too lascivious or violent contents via mass media or the internet, thereby stimulating their curiosity. Coupled with light penalty toward juvenile criminals, the extent to which young people aroused socially problematic behaviours has been constantly exacerbated. There exist ways to tackle such criminal acts the teens have committed to a range of reasons, most of which must be carried out mainly by governments. First of all, one of the ways to combat the problem is to have stricter penalties. This results in an immediate effect in that many delinquent teenagers can be deterred from crime for fear of being heavily punished. All too often, just because they are young, the courts are too lenient. Furthermore, we need a long-term and fundamental solution. Parents and teachers also have to feel more responsible for their children’s actions by making constant efforts to communicate with young people. Apart from such internal endeavours, authorities should strictly impose rules on TV programmes, thereby reducing the violence movie play from mass media. In other words, the society should protect children and teenagers so that they are exposed to the least provocative contents. The combination of rigid disciplines and long-term education plans will necessarily work in decreasing the rate of juvenile delinquency. In conclusion, many different factors have led to increases in the rate of teen crime, however, it is not impossible to tackle this matter by taking both internal and external actions immediately.