More and more people are migrating to cities in search of a better life, but city life can be extremely difficult. Explain some of the difficulties of living in a city. How can governments make urban life better for everyone?

There is a growing trend that people turn to live in cities to seek more opportunities, higher salary, etc. However, it is clear that difficulties accompany these cause trouble to the new city immigrants. So, governments should do much to improve urban life level. In terms of problems, the biggest change is the long commute time due to traffic congestion during rush hours. For instance, people who live in Beijing have to spend around one hour and half on commuting in every morning and evening, whatever they choose to take the subway, by buses or drive their private vehicles. The next disadvantage for urban people is obviously a poor air condition. A substantial of exhaust air like CO2, NO2 is discharged from a variety of vehicles and factories. The last difficulty city residents faced is significantly higher housing prices that they cannot afford. Regarding improving urban life, the governments can invest more transportation facilities, increase the fuel surcharges and construct considerable public rental housing. Firstly, public transportation can effectively reduce the using of private cars and thus reduce traffic congestion. In addition, some kinds of transportation such as subway can rapidly decrease the commute time. Secondly, higher fuel surcharges result to the dropping of private vehicle usage that lead to a lower exhaust air level. Finally, governments should build more public rental housing for those who have not enough ability to pay for their housing rental. For instance, New Zealand has a state house system for these poor. In concluding, there are several drawbacks of urban life, but the governments should be responsible for decreasing or even eliminating these disadvantages.