Society is based on rules and law .If individuals were free to do whatever they wanted to do. It could not function. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

It is undeniable that laws are made to maintain order and provide justice and security to the citizen of the nation.If the people of any society were given freedom to do whatever they wanted to do, then there will be utter chaos and confusion, leading to the downfall of the civilization. This essay will argue that why rules and laws are necessary. To begin with, the laws are made for humans to function in any orderly manner.No doubt, right to freedom is everyone's birthright. However, a civilization exists only if the people respect each others right, lives and property. This can only be achieved if they are given a set of rules. In addition, laws are made for the people to feel secure in their home, at their workplace or while they are out for enjoying with family and friends. Let us take an example, if there were no traffic rules, there will be a huge number casualties in road accidents as well as there will be too much chaos and confusion on the roads. In contrast, The article cannot be absolute and needs to be amended with the changing the world.In the complex and global society of today's world, a statute written fifty years ago may not ne applicable. For instance, till the first half of the 20th century, women in many countries did not have right to vote. In today's world we cannot even think of having such laws. To wrap up the discussion, it can be said that the law is needed in any community to maintain order, ensure safety as well as to make people respect other members of the society. Also, in the absence of the law, the wrongdoers will go unpunished, and it will lead to more crime in any culture.