Some governments spend a lot of money on exploring space. Some feel that this investment is justified while others think that money should be spent on public services like health care and education. Discuss both the views and give your own opinion.

In this modern era, the government spends a large amount of budget on space exploration. Although it is asserted by few that they should invest in exploring space, but others believe that the budget must be utilized for the public’s basic requirements. Both the views have merit, as this essay will demonstrate. To commence with, the exploration of the space allows humans to prepare for potential hazards. The universe is a vast place and contains a lot of asteroids and comet threats which could be dangerous for the earth. Exploring it provides an opportunity to locate these hazards in advance. For example, in the year 2018, it was explored and founded by the scientists of NASA that two asteroids approached close to the earth and can cause a hazard. Apart from this, studying universe had begun to launch many technologies which connect earth to space via satellites such as GPS, long range communication and weather forecasting. In my opinion, the cost of exploring is one of the largest criticisms. The ministry should spend money for fulfilling the basic needs of the people rather than using it for exploring other planets. There are a lot of people or even countries who don’t even have access to the basic amenities like food, shelter and water to stay alive. Apart from this the government should also realize that the public also needs good education, which is one of their fundamental requirements and instead of spending their extra funds on space exploration they could use it for introducing healthcare facilities to keep the populace healthy and fit. For instance, the USA government spends their large part of the budget on NASA for space exploration from more than 20 years which had led to nothing. Moreover, they could utilize that part of money for the betterment as well as for providing basic amenities to the citizens. To conclude, although exploring it can help to detect danger in advance, yet the fulfilment of the basic requirements of the public should be the priority. Moreover, in my opinion, it is the states foremost responsibility of the ministry to introduce educational and healthcare facilities.