Many People believe that social networking sites such as facebook have a huge negative impact on both individuals and society . To what extent do you agree?

A large number of people are of the opinion that social networking sites such as Facebook have a detrimental effect on individual people and the society at large. I believe that the effect on the society is negative, however, I am of the opinion that individuals benefit from the use of social media. A large number of people are of the opinion that social networking sites, for example Facebook, have had a detrimental effect on individual people and the society at large. In my opinion, it is true that the effect of social media on individuals has had negative implications, however, in terms of the society, I believe it has been for the most part positive. With regards to individuals, the impact that social media has had on each individual person has clear disadvantages. Firstly, the extensive use of social media by some people due to its addictive nature has brought about sedentary and reclusive behaviour, which has several effects such as, lack of social and emotional intelligence and lack of productivity. In other words, long term social isolation and, decreased social interaction in real life with real people subsequently leads to physical and mental health problems. Secondly, the use of social networking sites exposes individuals to huge security risks in the form of online harassment, cyber bullying, identity theft, stalking, and exposure to paedophiles. On the other hand, the effect that social networking sites such as Facebook and Linkedin have had on societies is evidently positive. The connectivity associated with these sites has fostered learning and sharing of cultures through interaction with people from all over the world. Consequently, the world is becoming a global village. Furthermore, local companies are currently networking with potential employees through social networking sites; aside from advertising their job vacancies, they have access to thousands of potential candidates’ profiles and resumes, which they can sift/scan through to find their perfect candidate. Therefore, job seekers also have more chances of finding suitable positions. In conclusion, although social networking sites have encouraged economic growth, for individual people, it has not had the same positive effect. Individuals need to regulate time spent on social networking sites, and also endeavour to engage more with actual humans around them in order to foster better emotional and physical health.