Some cities have vehicle-free days when private cars, trucks and motorcycles are banned from the city center. People are encouraged to use public transportation such as buses, taxis and metro on vehicle-free days. To what extent do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Vehicles on the road have been increasing by the day due to the cost of vehicles decreasing and the rise in the number of affordable options available in the market, the number of cars owned by individuals has increased. To combat the associated problems, cities have come up with strategies to reduce the number of vehicles on the road. Some have implemented bans on private cars, trucks and motorcycles running on certain days. There are some pros and cons of the same which shall be discussed in the essay. To begin with, the advantages of implementing bans on vehicles, assists in controlling overcrowding of streets, which improves the quality of roadways and reduces maintenance costs. It also controls the amount of smoke in the air, which provides a better environment. In addition, the ban promotes people to use public transportation, which allows people of different sectors to afford transportation. Moreover, it is considered to be good for the health as individuals are encouraged to engage in physical activity. For example, the amount of CO2 emission can be reduced if lesser vehicles were to run on the road and a person would have to walk to the nearest bus station or metro. On the contrary, there is a disadvantage of convenience. Having the flexibility to use your personal vehicle provides more privacy and the ability to be mobile at different hours of the day. People whose jobs require frequent travelling would find commuting through public transport, less efficient in comparison to having a personal car. For instance, a person doing a sales job would be required to travel to various clients and waiting for public transport would mean losing a lot of valuable time. To conclude, the advantages of implementing the ban outweighs the disadvantages. However, there can be more flexible laws implemented, in the form of permits for special cases such as emergency situations or job requirements which would help in reducing the impact of the disadvantages.