It is more important for school children to learn about their local history than world history. Do you agree or disagree?

While history is associated in our life and society, some thinks local history should be taught first in school before digging into the history of the world. I could not agree more as learning our own history is more important and I will discuss it in this essay. First, national history plays an integral part in our daily lives by knowing your culture and where your family's beliefs came from will provide an explanation why a certain community acts differently than the other. For example, during the Spanish-era, killing of pigs while singing a song is important prior to marriage, this tradition have been passed by the Spaniards to our ancestors. Beside this, only women in a successful marriage are able to serve the food in order for the new couple to be successful as well in their married life. Moreover, knowing what happen in the local history provide answers to why certain people have their statue built in certain areas of the country where we live. By this, with enough knowledge on the country's history, answering questions from a curious younger generation or even to foreigners would be easier to do so. In conclusion, an explanation on why a certain group of people acts differently than the others and educating ourselves where we came from would be easier to answer questions from the younger generation or even to foreigners is more important than the world history.