Technology has enabled the mass production of goods with the use of machines. Discuss the merits and demerits of mechanized production.

Technological advancements have substantially increased the manufacturing of products over the years. Firstly, this essay will explain the benefits of having the machines doing all the work, and secondly, it will describe the downsides of this advanced world. To embark upon, the use of machines in the manufacturing industry has resulted in faster production of various products. With the rapid increase in population, and increasing demand for household items all over the world, the machines have made it easy for companies to cater to the increased requirement. For example, Al Marai company produces dairy products such as milk and yoghurt, using advanced machines, and supplies it to all of the stores in the Middle East on a daily basis. In addition, machines have made the work easy for humans. These days, robotics are taking over the physical work required, that was previously done by humans, and now they only need human supervision. However, with the increase in dependency on machines, there is a threat of lesser need for human intervention. Now a days, in many large organizations almost all the work is being done by programmed machines, which is giving rise to unemployment. For instance, recently a multi billion dollar company Amazon has adopted machine based handling for all its items, which will indeed affect the employees doing the same jobs. Furthermore, organizations will have to bear the huge maintenance cost for keeping the machines running properly, and will need to invest heavily in upgrading their machines according to the needs. To conclude, machines have helped in faster production of items and made the life easy for humans. However, being totally dependent on these engineering marvels will cause humanity to lose their jobs, and high companies will have to face high maintenance costs.