There is a growing demand for fresh water nowadays and this is becoming a global problem. What are the causes and solutions?

The requirement for natural water is rapidly increasing and has become an international issue. I believe it has happened due to deforestation and use of underground aqua for irrigation. However, utilization of recycled drink and more tree plantation can aid in solving the current situation. This essay will discuss both the reasons and possible solutions for the water crisis. To initiate with, the trees are being cut at a very fast rate nowadays. In other words, to accommodate the growing population of the world, new houses are being built in the jungle / countryside. Moreover, the less forest area is causing frequent floods and droughts in several nations. This is occurring majorly due to environmental degradation, which brings disturbance in the ecosystem and preventing the natural flow of rain. Secondly, fresh underground water is used in agricultural lands to maintain the constant supply of food to the large population worldwide. This is to say that, drinking water reservoirs are being depleted. For instance, 70% of fresh drink sources is solely used for irrigating food crops in Punjab, India. Fortunately, natural water can be made available to people if countries start to utilize the treated wastewater for food production/ agricultural fields. Furthermore, it will help in reducing the decline in the fresh water supply. Moreover, campaigns and seminars should be conducted to enhance tree plantation. This is to say that, educating people to plant more and more trees each year will facilitate in preventing soil eruption, floods and other natural disasters. Hence, the ecosystem will be balanced to provide the normal water flow. To exemplify, In southern India, rain harvesting has been very popular for irrigation. To conclude, the enhanced need for fresh drinking water can be fulfilled by reducing the cutting of forests, by using treated water in irrigation and by planting more trees.