Completing university education is thought by some to be the best way to get a good job. On the other hand other people think that getting experience and developing soft skills is more important. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Higher education has long been considered to be a definite pass to a high rank and well paid position in a company, although modern labour trends require the application of innate interpersonal skills as well as experience to be in demand for a professional. In the following essay I will discuss what is required to obtain a good job and conclude that hard skills are still a priority, although they should work in concert with soft skills. Higher education institutions are designed to release well educated specialists equipped with a particular craft. The universities are usually based on science are expensive to attend. As a result, graduates expect to receive top positions in companies’ hierarchy. Overall, it is imperative to show deep professional knowledge if an individual would like to occupy a good post. According to statistics, 100 percent of the specialists in demand benefit from a university degree. Although a degree is a must for a senior position, critical interpersonal skills is what makes people move up the success ladder. Without developed soft skills which are a sign of a mature candidate a person is not able to display leadership, empathy or assertiveness. These are in the domain of the emotional intelligence. According to recruiters and analytics of a head hunting website LinkedIn, emotional intelligence is twice as important as technical and cognitive ability in distinguishing top performers among the candidates. In conclusion, although hard skills are imperative to become a well-paid professional, soft skills on the other hand play a crucial role in promoting and taking managerial posts. I believe that balanced application of both knowledge and interpersonal skills can enhance a candidate’s chances for a well-paid position.