Some oeple think that because some children find some subjects such as mathematics and philosophy difficult ought to be optional instead of compulsary. To what extend to you agree?

Schools offer various subjects, from which, some are mandatory. Although, children have interests and preferences, which can be developed further, subjects such as mathematics and philosophy are important in the founding years of education. But these can be optional at later years if the system is planned. Firstly, it is important to consider that children have different strengths and weaknesses, at the same time, have interests in varied fields. Developing a child's strength at early ages and understanding their interests would be a positive approach. For example, a child would be good at art and would be interested in subjects that are related to it. Providing flexibility to chose these subjects as part of the curriculum would be beneficial for the child's growth. Therefore, it is a positive approach, if children were given the option to choose subjects where their interests lie, than to force difficult subjects in which they have no interest in. On the contrary, subjects such as mathematics and philosophy, help in developing the analytical and technical skills of children. Hence, it is important to include these within the curriculum at the early learning years. Moreover, there are basic concepts which are taught to children in these subjects, which would prove to be helpful throughout their life. To illustrate, concepts such as BODMAS, matrices, integration, statistics and geometry form the foundation. Furthermore, these topics would help with working on a day to day basis in later parts of their life. To conclude, it is a positive approach to provide children the option to choose these subjects, which would assist in developing skills in areas that are of interest to them. However, it is also crucial that these options are provided to them at later grades, which would ensure that they have set up a strong foundation.