The impacts of increasing life expectancy to people and society In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

The modern way of life is being improved and getting better. Therefore, people these days face less risk than they did in the past and their average life span is increasing as well. In this essay, some problems that cause for both individuals and society will be discussed before coming to some solutions. One of the major challenges of the growing population of elderly people is that the number of people who receive a pension is currently increasing whereas the national budget is limited. This is a huge obstacle for developing countries like Vietnam. When the number of the old aged rise, not only does the budget that the government must provide for them grow, but the need for housing and land will also be much higher. Moreover, young adults will increasingly have to look after their elderly relatives, which also means the demand for properties and medical care will rise. The last matter would be the lack of a labour source. Because of the aging population, nowadays, has created an enormous financial burden, we have to face up to the lack of young labourers who is the main labour force of the country. There are several actions that could be taken to solve the problems. Firstly, the government could take some steps by raising the retirement age for working adults, perhaps from 65 to 70. People from this age tend to be active and productive to continue working. Another measure should be implemented is allowing young people from other countries to immigrate. This will reduce the aging population and the young workforce will be augmented. In conclusion, both individuals and community need to join hands to decrease the impact of an aging population for a better life.