Some people say that supermarkets should have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging for products they sell. Others say it is the resposibility of the consumers to avoid such products. Discuss and give your opinion.

Nowadays supermarkets are getting more popularity around the world. People are buying more products from the chain shop as it is convenient and less time-consuming. However, the chain shops usually use intensive packaging to distribute their products which are sometimes harmful for the surroundings. Some consumers believe that they should avoid the super shops to reduce the excessive packaging system while others believe that supermarkets should minimize the warping materials of their products. I personally believe that the authority of supermarkets should take the responsibility to reduce materials. First of all, using a huge amount of packaging materials is not good for the environment. Most of the wrapping substances are made of papers which are usually produced from trees. As a result, using more wrapping materials means cutting down more trees that have devastating consequences on the habitat. For example, if a supermarket uses one tone of the papers for the packing purpose in every month, it has to cut down 1 hectors of forest to produce that amount of paper. Though some customers prefer heavily warped products, the chain shop authority should not use excessive packing materials for the welfare of the environment. Secondly, polythene is frequently used for packing which can cause damage to biodiversity. Both polyethylene and plastic are disposable substance and not biodegradable. Consequently, when an excessive amount of plastic materials is used for packing, the climate becomes contaminated and those materials threatened biodiversity. For example, a recent survey has found packing plastic has destroyed the biodiversity of the coastline area. In conclusion, the supermarket should stop the excessive use of warping materials to save the environment.