In some cultures, the parents arrange marriages for their children but in others, children choose their marriage partner. What are the advantages and disadvantages of each system?

Marriage is considered the most auspicious relationship between a man and a woman. On the one hand, few individuals have the liberty to choose their spouse, but on the contrary, some couples marry based on their parents' choice. There are pros and cons to each system. On the one hand, the biggest advantage of children choosing their better half is, they will take responsibility for their decisions and the consequences that follow. Furthermore, taking their own decisions will make them feel empowered and will start taking ownership of their choices. Moreover, since they are still young and lack maturity, if they do not put in efforts to make the right decisions or work out things, it may end up breaking families and ruining lives. However, parents have a vast experience in marital matters. Parents know their children well. Hence, some cultures let the parents choose the better half for their adult sons and daughters. As a result of this, children might feel daunted for marriage and will rely more on their parents to make decisions for them. For instance, research done by the marriage bureau of India states that, even today, in Hindu culture 80 percent of marriages are still arranged by parents. In conclusion, children choosing their life partner will make them responsible and empower them. But not all youngsters are mature and might end things on a bitter note for everyone. Parents choosing the life partner, according to their son's or daughter's nature is advantageous in one sense, but it will often make children dependent on their parents for other life decisions as well.