In many countries today , people in cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than in large family groups.

It is true that in many countries, these days under the influence of different cultures, many city dwellers have adopted new lifestyles of living. In my opinion, this trend has both positive and negative in equal measure. On the one hand, in light of the fast pace of globalization. Residents in many urban areas have the opportunity to experience the lifestyle of foreign countries. The tendency of living alone or in small family is becoming more prevalent lately. This movement brings about some certain values. Firstly, this way of living provides them more freedom due to the fact that they do not have to ask for other’s permission to do something. Secondly, living independently also means that they will have the chance to develop their own finance and increase their responsibility of their economy. As a result, they will be well-prepared for their life. On the other hand, the preference for smaller family size also has some adverse effect on the society. This is perfectly exemplified by the increase demand in private living space, which is lead to the erection of green land for the skyscrapers as well as area for houses. As a consequence, the nature will have to sacrifice to provide the need of more accommodation. In addition, when people choose to not live with their parents, old people will be left alone. This phenomenon causes critical consequences to senior citizen. Such consequences may cost them their lives because no one is around to give them care, first aid or call the hospital. In conclusion, a smaller family unit renders both upside and downside. Whether this trend has more positive or negative impact depends on how much people are aware of the two sides of the issue.