Online Shopping is replacing Shopping in stores. Is it a positive or negative development.

Advancement in technology has bettered our lives in multiple ways. Another aspect where technology has made inroads in the way we shop. Gone are the days when most people visited the local stores to buy their wares. Online Shopping has now become the pervasive way to purchase items. This essay will examine both styles of purchasing and outline my opinion. The most obvious benefit of online Shopping is the mere convenience of the entire process – starting right from the selection of products, to the final delivery of the products. An online platform provides a wide variety of items one plans to buy. In addition, the one-click purchase option, allows buyers to stock up their carts from different departments & categories, without having to make their way through the maze of shopping aisles. In other words, unlike earlier times where people had to visit multiple stores to check items off their shopping lists, followed by hauling the purchases back home, shopping portals these days provide delivery of the products right at your doorstep. To illustrate further, a recent survey conducted of over 5000 shoppers, revealed how online Shopping has helped save time in their daily lives. In particular, more than 75% of young shoppers showed a preference for buying online versus from a physical store. Furthermore, the tools we have created are starting to erode the very social fabric of the society in which we live. As a result, retail stores are unable to keep up with the convenience provided by big online giants, and therefore are dying a slow death. Sadly, the warmth and friendliness offered by physical store staff are nowhere to be seen when making purchases online. For instance, going out for Shopping in earlier days was viewed as a fun outing for families. Because of this kid invariably learnt subtle life-lessons from parents like, weighing the pros and cons of choosing items, buying within means, and sticking to a budget. In most cases, online Shopping now has made the task look like a usual chore, taking away the fun and learning aspect of it. In conclusion, it is fair to say that although we will miss the charms of retail Shopping, but there is no doubt that development of Online Shopping is the new norm and is here to stay. It has eaten away a huge chunk of the market share of retail stores, but the convenience that online Shopping provides outweighs it all.