Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Consumer globalization has been spreading rapidly around the world. In this modern era, fellow citizens are able to purchase any product across the globe at their convenience, thus leading to countries becoming more alike. In this essay, I will discuss the benefits and detrimental effects caused by this and conclude with my opinion. To begin with, the world has become a global village which provides easy access to consumers within their country. Especially prior to globalization, people had to order a product which is not available locally through online sites such as; E-bay and Amazon. Therefore, hefty sums are charged for shipping and taxes.The positive side of this is that, by introducing franchise dealers to other continents, it allows residents to buy the product in their country at an inexpensive rate which saves time and money. On the other hand, it is generally agreed that countries are losing their individuality by this wide-spread of products available immediately at their local stores. For instance, people often travel to other countries to learn their culture, cuisines, fashion and traditional products. This development will create a significant strain on the tourism industry. Consequently, traditional culture will not be a dominant factor for foreigners with interests in traditional amenities. To summarise, consumer globalization has its own advantages which, outweighs the drawbacks. I believe that it has a beneficial impact on the society, therefore, countries should join hands together and enhance the development to help people reach out to products easily and economically.