some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled.They say that the only way to recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste.?

It is considered by some that waste recycling is not something many households are keen on doing. According to them, there should be a law forcing them to take up the initiative. However, I disagree and strongly believe that legalizing it at this moment will do more harm than good. Firstly, spreading the awareness is more required right now, rather than pressurizing people to comply with the law. People will try to find out the loopholes simply because they do not know about the benefits of recycling. For example, the children who have studied about this are found to be more enthusiastic about having a good waste recycling process at their households, in comparison with their parents, who have no idea about how the environment and the nature can be saved by it. Therefore, the government should educate people before pushing the requirements on its citizens. Additionally, such a sudden legal initiative can also be very harsh on the poor families. Even though they want to follow the rules, many may not simply have the money to buy the equipment required to reuse their waste. It will not only create more stress but also may result in protests. For instance, an overnight decision of mandating every house to run on solar power was faced with severe criticism and eventually the law could not be enforced and was withdrawn. Hence, before making waste recycling mandatory, the government should also take care of the basic infrastructure, so that the cost for the same need not be incurred by the people of the country. In conclusion, if reusing waste is made compulsory right now, it can lead to several complications and the end result might not be as fruitful as it should be. On the one hand, people have the right to understand the utility of this implementation first, on the other hand, the law makers a maker of laws; someone who gives a code of laws lawmakers should also consider the monetary risk associated with this. Then only it should be made a legal requirement.