Surveys shows that people are living longer in many cities. but increased life expectancy has many implications for aging individuals and for society as a whole. What are the possible effects of longer living for individuals and society?

Thanks to cutting-edge technologies and advanced medical treatments, people's life expectancy have been prolonged within several years so that people enjoy their activity fully. However, there are some benefits and drawbacks to both, individuals and societies. In the first place, from the perspective of one citizen, people can enjoy their after retirement life more compared to the people in the past, thus old people who had retired, spend their time for playing some leisure activities, such as golf, gate ball or some new hobbies that they never experienced before. On the flip side, the prolonged living span expectancy is not just a straightforward matter. Considering that older people's physical ability, they are too old to work, and they required regular medical care, however, the cost of treatment is alarming high for them so they have to rely on their family. As a result, it might bear a huge financial burden to not only them but also their children. Apart from the individual's view, there are various matters to communities. First of all, as far as their workforce abilities are deeply considered, they cannot pay a tax to the government and they have to reversely get several social security policies, including public medical care or a national annuity. It will bear a financial burden on the government's budget. Another related problem worth mentioning is the tax, in the super-aging society, young people should pay taxes to support the older generation, in other words, they should work longer hours, and pay more taxes. In addition, from the perspective of youth, the policies are unfair and it might lead to the brain-drain phenomenon that the younger generation leaves the countries that put higher taxes on them in their free will. These problematic issues, including extreme complexion, shown that live longer is not an issue that have only a bright side. In conclusion, the extended life span has some issues in a positive and a negative way to our urban associations and populations. The government should enact laws for preventing these predicted matters as fast as they can since the aging-society already has been realised in many countries.