Some people believe that reading stories from a book is better than watching TV or playing computer games for children. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the context of flourishing digital technology, the emergence of TV and video games seems to abolish the habit of reading stories for toddlers of many families. Opinions are divided as to whether reading books are more beneficial for children’s overall development than watching television, and playing game consoles or vice versa. From my perspective, I take the view that the role of the former in shaping children’s personalities and boosting their intelligence is equal to the latter. On the one hand, it is evident that books are an indispensable material contributing to the full formation of youngsters. Firstly, storybooks provide an initial conception of moral virtues for children. By allocating two types of opposite characters which are hero (protagonist) and villain (antagonist) as a commonplace in literature, authors orientate children towards appropriate manners in interpersonal relationships and particular situations. With regard to the newborns, they will get more exposure to a sense of intimacy with their parents, thereby forming a close attachment. Secondly, intellectual ability is enhanced through the act of reading stories. Scientific research has pinpointed that the more words a child editorially absorbs a day, the wide range of vocabulary they have. Thus, children are enabled to complete their verbal communication skills as well as to convey their emotional feelings instead of internalizing. On the other hand, despite being controversially debated, watching television and playing computer games offer some distinct advantages to children. Television, beside books, also is an available household learning tool. With the variety of TV channels: Science channel, Discovery Channel or National Geographic, to illustrate, children are supplied with an admixture between education and entertainment. Likewise, computer games may teach youngsters some unparalleled lessons through its lively graphic visuals. Gamers are frequently stigmatized as being too insulated; however, the rise of multi-player experiences online has given way to a new form of socializing which requires coordination to solve problems. It is the opposite contention that watching television and playing video games with high frequency abandon children from reading books. Actually, numerous movies have motivated teenagers to read and investigate adapted novels. Conversely, a child who is engrossed with the novel series “Game of Thrones”, “Harry Potter” may find movies a reliable source to visualize and understand the originality. To recapitulate, reading stories from books, watching TV along with playing computer games have their own merits according to what is above-mentioned. The rudimentary thing is that parents need to spare equal time for each activity to optimize them for children’s development.