Many people prefer to watch foreign films rather than locally produced films. Why could this be? Should governments give more financial support to local film industries?

In recent years, movies have gradually become an important part of people's lives. It is true that foreign films are more popular than local ones in some countries and this can be explained for several reasons. In my opinion, the government should support the local film industry more. There are various reasons why people prefer imported movies. Firstly, some movies present culture and features, and people prefer to see new things rather than things around them. For instance, Chinese Kung Fu films are considerably famous all over the world because Kung Fu is part of Chinese culture but is not local. The second reason is that film industries in some countries are more developed than the others. Hollywood is a good example of this: there are enormous famous actors, directors and other professional technicians in this area. That is why American movies such as Transformers and Avatar have better special effects and much more magnificent scenes. In terms of financial assist to local film industries, there is no doubt that the government should give more. First of all, an increase in job positions can be expected, accompanied by a rise in the amount of financial help. Next, some movies can be used as a country's business card to the world; and then will attract substantial tourists to this country; and finally bring tremendously greater returns than investment to the country. For example, millions of people come to New Zealand because of the popularity of Lord of The Rings, which is partly funded by the authority. In summary, governments should support local movie industries more that allow them to produce better works to compete with foreign films that dominate the local market currently.