In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In several countries, seniors live in houses which offer care facilities such as nurses, who will make sure these older individuals are healthy and safe. Nevertheless, those places are not free, someone has to pay for it. Indeed, in some cases families contribute financially with it, but there are situations and places in the world where this is also a governmental responsibility. In my point of view, both groups should be involved as we know that there are old people who do not have a family. First and foremost, a society should respect older people, giving them all the support they need. Thus, the state should assume this responsibility of taking care of this part of the population as a recognition of their contribution for that country's growth. This is important because, for example, there are a lot of old people who do not have a family and also who cannot afford the cost of living. Thus, I believe that doing this the government will not only recognize their importance, but also protecting those peoples lives. On the other hand, if these people have family, they should give the full support to their older relatives. As a result, this will extend the governmental capacity to help others who really need it. For illustration, in half of the older population is being supported by their families, the other half can have their care guaranteed by the state. Thus, I believe that it will also bring benefits for the society, as the population will see that the country administration will respect them in the future if they need. In conclusion, I believe that both families and government must be responsible for our seniors well being. Hence, for each different situation, it is necessary to have a different approach, protecting at the end those who contribute a lot to build our society.