A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some people start giving respect to others by judging their pocket size and social status, nowadays they start giving more value to the materialistic and showing off persons rather than determining them through honour, kindness, trust, integrity and other moral values, and I totally agree with the statement. Society always follows the film industry such as Hollywood or Bollywood. Celebrities and other media persons always promote the fashion brands, luxury cars, going to indulge parties and living a lavish lifestyle which is being adopted by lots of persons. People have considered these materials and show off items as a symbol of elite class and giving them impression to judge everyone according to their status. For instance, In urban area of Sindh, Pakistan, before people love to do the simple marriage ceremony and event, but now they start organizing concerts, reception and other unnecessary events where they spend millions of rupees just to get honour and value in society. On the other hand, many people think that honour, kindness, trust and other moral values are actual determinations, still in some parts of the world sub-cultures gave more value to ethics, moral values over social status and materials. For example, in some rural area of Sindh, Pakistan, many individuals are still following their culture and valuing people as their elders love to do, living their life with simplicity and needs. To sum up, people believe and the way to judge might have switched from ethical and moral points to materials and luxury items nevertheless still integrity, honour, self esteem, trust and kindness win hearts.