Only government action can solve the housing shortage in big cities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is said that solving important national issues like housing shortage should be decided by the government itself. I completely agree that governing bodies should resolve the growing problem of housing insufficiency in larger municipalities. To begin with, in this contemporary time, the lack of housing in some places is unfortunately still an on-going problem. For example, in the Philippines, numerous people are still awaiting accommodation services promised by the people in power for years. In other words, past administrations have pledged more housing units that have left people desperately expecting for nothing. As a result, parents with their children are seen roaming around the streets begging for food and shelter. In addition, several organizations have tried to help people with nowhere to stay by collecting donations. However, this is obviously not enough as many people still need accommodation support. For this reason, in my opinion, numerous people are paying taxes every year and the authority should allocate more funds for those who need shelter. This is also to avoid locals getting sicker from living in the streets. Moreover, this will prevent homeless people from accidents and also from doing illegal things along the streets. Thus, with these people facing poverty, government should provide more help and support until they find jobs and earn money to pay for their own housing. In conclusion, with the continuous support of the government bodies, housing shortage can be determined if only certain measures will be in place and annual funds will be ensured to provide lodging to their citizens who need it most.