Some people say that governments should pay for public health care and education, while others say that it is not the government’s responsibility. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Public services like health care and education are generally assumed to be paid by governments while there are some opposite opinions that citizens should also bear part of the expenses. From my perspective, residents should shoulder the main responsibility for medical and educational services. On the one hand, those who advocate the state provision of health care and education have their own arguments. Since it is the fact that the government raises financing primarily from taxpayers’ income, these facilities should be provided for its citizens in return. By covering these costs, the authority could also guarantee that every resident is given the basic rights, thus help in the alleviation of inequity between areas. However, what this argument overlooks is that in most countries, only salaried people are being taxed; therefore the over-exploitation of government incentives will in fact add a heavy burden on these residents. On the other hand, I strongly believe that the cost of health care and education should be covered by the citizens themselves. One main rationale is that too much support from the government may lead to a greater dependence of the public and improper utilization of these services. If residents were required to pay their shares of the cost, they would become more responsible. For example, paying for medical charges will result in people being aware of their health condition and adopting a healthy lifestyle. In addition, when citizens bear their own expenses, it would release some financial burden on the governments and they will have more budgets to spend on other areas that are more in need. In conclusion, while it is argued that the government should allocate funds for health care and education, I believe that these expenses should be the responsibility of citizens themselves.