In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, many elderly persons live in old age homes with other people belonging to the same age group in Britain. There are several instances where the government funds this stay, and in my opinion, this is how it must be. Firstly, during adulthood, these people have certainly contributed a substantial amount to the development of the nation. Not only many had paid taxes, but also had been involved in professions which are essential for a country and its citizens to survive and thrive. For example, some might be a doctor in their younger days, having saved many lives. However, if they are unable to support themselves after a certain age and to not get any aid from the government, it will be unfair. If people are ever at that they will not be receiving any help from the authorities, they might concentrate more on making money, rather than devoting themselves to their occupation. Additionally, every country has a duty towards its senior citizens, especially when they are in need. There are numerous cases where people have abandoned their elderly parents, and sometimes they simply have no family left from whom they can ask for support. The country for which they have worked for their entire life, is sometimes the only hope they have. For instance, kids often leave the country and they neither visit their family afterwards, nor they send any monetary help. Therefore, in case the government does not support them, many will have to live on the streets, which will increase the rate of poverty. In conclusion, according to me, senior citizens should definitely get paid by every nation for a comfortable stay at old age homes. Because many of them were once a taxpaying citizen, who have had contributed a lot towards the overall growth of the country, I feel that they deserve it in their final days.