Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships people make? Has this become a positive or negative development?

Methods of communication between humans have evolved due to advancement in technology. It certainly enables people to build relations with others from around the earth, and it seems to be beneficial for us owing to its aid in alleviating cultural differences among the public from various backgrounds. This essay will discuss why alteration in the interaction is advantageous and how it affects the connections between society. Firstly, technological enhancements, particularly, internet, has replaced the in-person communication with social apps. In other words, chatting, sharing photographs and video calling has become an extremely popular mode of contact lately. Furthermore, the internet has provided access to everyone for choosing their friends and even life partners, from any corner of the world. What is more, now anyone can easily have a conversation with foreigners, which was not feasible in the past. For instance, according to an article published in The Hindu Newspaper in 2018, in India, approximately 24% of marriages have happened through affairs made on Facebook. Secondly, the possibility to know and interact with persons from other countries facilitates to understand the cultural conceptions of others. This is to say that, by communicating with populations of completely different environment, tolerance and familiarity improves. This familiarization benefits not only an individual, but an entire nation in building stronger relations with the neighbouring countries and the world. Moreover, understanding makes us more tolerant thus making it possible to have a favourable progress of the country. To exemplify, A study conducted at The University of Solan, in 2016 in India, it was found that the acceptance of the people of various complexions has enhanced among a new generation of India. The obvious reason behind it is their increased exposure of the world through social platforms, which is a product of technology. To conclude, variations due to technical developments is making it possible to have friendship with persons from numerous nations and, also assisting in building better connections between countries. Thus, it is undoubtedly a constructive growth.