It was predicted that people in the 21st century would have much more free time than in the past. To what extent has this prediction come true ?

It is ironic how technological advancements have made life simpler, but also busy at the same occasion. People these days are busier than ever. In my opinion, the prediction about individuals having more free time as compared to that past has proved inaccurate. The ever changing lifestyle of the 21st century has demanded more time. Furthermore, few individuals are ensuring that time available outside of working hours is invested in learning something meaningful like picking up new skills to keep up with the increasing competition, thereby keeping their schedules busy. For example, the study done by the University of California states that, the electronic era has made the life of an ordinary man busier by 40 percent than it was 2 years ago. Additionally, people are always glued to the digital devices in search of information to quench their thirst for knowledge with no time to relax. Although technological advancements make life much simpler by automating daily chores and bringing the world at the fingertips, people are still finding it challenging to spare some time. Moreover, globalisation demands some of the industries to work and support 24x7 and employees need to work extra hours to transition smoothly between shifts. Despite the fact that technology has made it possible to work remotely, people often find themselves carrying their work while even on vacation or attending conference calls when in some family get together. In conclusion, it seems to me that, people today are busier than before. The prediction that people will have more free time in the 21st century seems a failure.