In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

Many people can live longer into their old age, causing a rise in the number of older people, which some people argue will be challenging for governments. In my opinion, I contend that an ageing population will lead to negative consequences, particularly for the economy and business sectors. Governments will face more economic problems because they are obligated to improve healthcare systems in order to provide older people with better medical treatments and necessities. Thus, more money will be spent by governments to cover their insurance, which will result in high national expenditures. Moreover, most companies will be threatened since they will struggle to find potential workers to employ, as older workers are unable to work long-term because of their health limitations. For instance, a company in Indonesia cannot run smoothly due to a lack of workers, especially young ones. On the other hand, older people can prepare the young generation by giving them life lessons, which can be useful for their futures. This is because they are more experienced and knowledgeable, and can lead them. In addition, they can help shape young people into resilient people with many capabilities, which provides them with promising futures if they can apply the lessons properly. One of my friends, for example, has learned numerous valuable insights from her grandparents, mainly about survival skills. Consequently, these have helped her overcome unexpected situations, such as when she was lost in a forest. To conclude, I believe that the drawbacks of an ageing population will eventually overshadow the benefits since it greatly impacts certain sectors, which can probably cause severe issues, while life lessons can be obtained from anywhere, not only from the elderly, and therefore will not be as impactful as the downsides.