Some people believe that reading stories from a book is better than watching TV or playing computer games for children. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is not uncommon that children nowadays gain knowledge or entertain themselves by reading books and playing computer games or watching TV. A certain extent I agree that reading books is a useful way for children’s development. However, I would argue that watching television or play computer games also play an equally important role in their life. On the one hand, I agree that playing video games and watching TV set are a benefit for youngsters in some ways. Firstly, video games can make players develop connections in their brain cells; thus, these games can help them to increase their concentration and creativity. For example, the action game can boost brain function in response speed, attention, spatial cognition, and life skills. Secondly, watching television helps youngsters broaden their knowledge by providing useful information which does not update through books and newspapers. For instance, children may expand their understanding of wildlife by watching animal videos on TV. On the other hand, I believe that reading books are beneficial for the young. Nowadays, many children become insensitive due to overexposure to technology; therefore, reading is one of the best ways to cultivate their emotions. Many children's books are on topics that can open valuable discussions between a parent and child, such as books about sibling rivalry, so they would gradually develop a sense of sharing and loving member families. Furthermore, reading books with children helps them develop their language skills. Besides, stories not only engage children's imagination, but also introduce children to things and places such as oceans and wild animals. In conclusion, I would argue that books and some entertainment activities like watching video for children would have the same significance in children’s life.