Some think that only those people who have worked for a company for more years should be promoted to a higher position. Do you agree?

It is an undeniable fact that any organisation's true worth is known by the value of its human capital asset. A faction of the workforce believes that the term spent by an employee with the organisation is the critical determinant of their career growth. However, there is another set of people who oppose the idea of tenure being the deterministic factor. In my opinion, meritocracy alone, irrespective of the length of association with the company should be rewarded with promotion. To begin with, a company's growth is the apparent outcome of whether employees come to work to do a nine-to-five job or are enthusiastic about going the extra mile and contributing to the company's success. This difference in a worker's attitude makes a remarkable impact on the long-term growth of a company. In particular, the reason why a company can be differentiated from its industry peers is that it often has proactive employees who take initiatives to deal with new challenges. To illustrate further, a recent survey of over 100 organisations in the same industry, revealed that companies that recognised and rewarded talented employees had an 80% higher probability of increased annual growth. To add further, in today's competitive job market ample opportunities are available for skilled employees, and it is challenging to find and retain the right talent. A company that sets a precedent of rewarding only long-tenured employees, will have many diligent workers leaving the organisation. A highly talented employee whose hard work and efforts are not given merit, and is passed over for promotion for some long-tenured colleague, will have no qualms looking for better opportunities. In effect, this will leave the organisation with employees working at minimal levels of productivity, thereby bringing down the output level. In conclusion, companies should revisit their appraisal policy and not promote people solely on their tenure. I would strongly affirm that organisations should recognise and reward talented employees with commensurate remuneration based on their efforts and contribution to the workplace.