The desire for higher status or great wealth than others is what motivate most people to succeed in the world. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is often argued that either greater affluent or higher social level is more influential than others among people be successful around the world. I totally disagree with this because there are more factors in terms of job satisfaction and personal fulfilment are much important than wealth. The main reason I disagree is because the association between salary and job satisfaction is very weak, that is the fact that there is little evidence to show that money motivates us but it's actually less motivation. Therefore, there is no exact number how many people should earn, even if resources were unlimited, it would be difficult to identify if someone is successful. Furthermore, another reason is that when employees who focus too much on making money are preventing themselves from enjoying their job. For instance, people work over time might less interest in learning new skills, or having fun. Consequently, the long term of this can be having a negative emotion which has led mental illness. Nevertheless, opponents claim that wealth is more important in order to provide family and personal need. A salesman is a good example, the more products they sell, the more profit they make; vice versa. Ultimately, when people choice their career, they might consider how much salary can make. However, once these basic needs are covered the psychological benefits are questionable. In conclusion, even though having higher social status can make people enviable, however, there are different aspect considered a flourishing life. Provide people identify what them value and understand what they want, their life can be more meaningful.