The threat of nuclear weapons maintains world peace. Nuclear power provides cheap and clean energy. The benefits of nuclear technology far outweigh the disadvantages. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

The debilitating effects of the Hiroshima Nagasaki atom bomb explosion have reverberated down for generations. So much so, that today the world leaders will concur that nuclear technology, if not used wisely can be a deadly weapon of mass-destruction. However, they are also aware of the many beneficial uses of this economical energy source. On the one hand, the possession of such arsenal must be highly controlled to avoid any mishap. On the other hand, I strongly agree with the notion that using nuclear technology has many advantages and supersede any drawbacks. To begin with, the utility provided by nuclear science has developed with the advancements in this field. Moreover, industries right from the rocket sciences to energy production have seen remarkable impacts of using nuclear power in their experiments and projects. Because of its zero carbon emissions, nuclear tech has proven not only an inexpensive, but also a cleaner source of power. This is further demonstrated by the development of unique cities that are powered using nuclear fission. In addition, the limited source of fossil fuel that the Earth is left with, it is now evident that nuclear power production will be the future of sustainable life on the planet Earth. In contrast, owning nuclear weapons also has added to the increased tensions between various nations. Countries owning nuclear-powered weapons are considered to have superior defence. However, there is always a threat of the same nuclear missiles being misused by terrorists. Governments and scientists all over the globe need to emphasise on the strict control and monitoring of their nuclear assets. Moreover, the nations also need to be cognizant of the fact that usage of these weapons will not only harm their enemies, but also prove to be the cause of a mass-destruction of millions of people. For example, the evidence that North Korea has ready to launch Nuclear missiles targeting the top cities in the world, is a huge concern for the world peace. To conclude, I firmly agree that nuclear technology is highly beneficial if used with precaution and care. However, we need to be aware of its dangerous effects and therefore keep these assets heavily guarded.