More and more businesses as well as individuals are choosing to communicate either professionally or socially using technology rather than being face to face. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of using technology for communicating.

In modern society, the development of technology leads to the change of connecting methods. Due to technology advances, people prefer online contact to direct talking. While this may cause some potential problems, I believe that the benefits are greater than the drawbacks. There are a number of positive impacts when people use high tech to communicate. Firstly, the new way of contact improves a quality of education in the poorest and most remote areas. In many developing nations, children living in isolated regions such as mountainous villages or far- flung islands, are unable to access to decent educational services, because it is too difficult to build schools there and recruit qualified teachers. Many governments have launched social programs to improve the quality of education system in the distant areas by connecting students and teachers through the Internet. Secondly, communication using technology helps people keep in touch in case of unpredicted situations such as wars or pandemics. For instance, with the outbreak of Covid-19, many employees are not able to go to the office or citizens are ban to move out their cities. Fortunately, companies all over the world allows employees to work from home and submit daily reports online, or students are likely to stay in their rooms, using computers to connect with teachers instead of going to school. On the other hand, adopting high tech methods leads to severe problems. The first one is limited privacy when sharing information via the Internet. For instance, any random hacker can get access to the private information and attempt to misuse it. Another problem is that technology may not be of high quality and therefore reliably. You may find yourself in an area without mobile or wifi coverage or your internet connection may fail in the middle of an important video conference with your colleagues. In conclusion, though technology has made communication easier and more convenient, there are numerous disadvantages as well if it is used excessively. So the mode of communication should be chosen judiciously taking into account several factors such as distance and time.