Some people think that the internet has brought people closer together while other thinks that the people and communities are becoming more isolated. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is thought by some people that the web has decreased the gap between individuals while others think that it has made people and communities isolated. In my opinion, although the internet had done wonders in the lives of individuals, nevertheless, societies are suffering because of the web. Many advocate that the internet has bridged the gap between individuals. Nowadays, people can chat online with the populace of different countries and cultures. Though in earlier days, people used to send postcards and letters to their loved ones. However, now people can talk to their relatives and friends through video calls and emails. It is indeed true that the internet has made communication a lot easier than before. For example, students studying abroad can talk to their families at any time through various channels like Facebook, Whatsapp, Skype which helps youngsters to overcome homesickness. Therefore, in my opinion, the web has made an incredible transition in the lives of individuals. However, others believe that the internet has made communities isolated. This is true that the communities are left alone in this virtual world. As people are busy in managing their virtual relationships, they have forgotten the physical relationships they share with other people. Many individuals, in family parties or get-together are seen on their phones or gadgets. Nowadays, people are not giving importance to the society they are sharing with their values. Therefore, I believe that due to this advancement in technology, communities are at higher risk of ignorance and isolation of the individuals. In conclusion, it is evident that the internet plays a significant role in bringing people closer, however, it is also keeping apart the communities from face-to-face communication.