In many professional sports, there is an increase in the number of athletes using banned substances to improve their performance. What are the causes of the phenomenon and what are some of the possible solutions?

In the recent times, it has been observed that a number of sports persons consume prohibited materials to enhance their performance. There are various reasons causing them to take this step and there are viable answers to curb this issue, which will be cited in the essay below. To begin with, in the past few decades, many young people have started taking interest in building their career in the sports field. Owing to high competition and aiming to win, they are inclined towards taking short cuts routes, which in turn leads them to take steroids, heroine, and other harmful and banned drugs as per the norms of the sports authority. They consume these drugs to increase their stamina, endurance and muscle-power which helps them to win more competitions. These steps have a negative impact and also has a severe effect on the overall sports sectors. On the other hand, there are a number of ways through which this can be controlled. The board should lay out strict rules and regulations. A thorough background check should be done for all the participants. If any member has a history of doping or using any banned substance, they should not be allowed to be a part of the competition. Moreover, a long-term solution is that if there is a medical test performed before the match, it will help in reducing the drug offence conducted by the athletes. For instance, the Australian government has banned a cricketer for lifetime who was found doping in one of the matches. This has resulted in the decrease of 60% in the consumption of the doping substance. In conclusion, it is evident that the increasing competition is the prime reason due to which the sports persons consume the substances which are banned, however this can be controlled with the help of the appropriate steps taken.