Some people think that teachers should be responsible for teaching students how to judge right from wrong and how to behave well. Some say that teachers should only teach students academic subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

A school of thought holds that it is the teachers who are responsible for educating students about right and wrong while the opposite stance asserts that they should focus solely on academic subjects. From my perspective, it is necessary to emphasize both aspects. On the one hand, proponents of the first viewpoint have several reasons to justify their position. They argue that students spend the majority of their time in a day at school, and thus, teachers should be the ones who are responsible for teaching students about ethics. Besides, an increase in adolescent criminals in recent years has made the role of teachers in preventing young students from going astray has become even greater than ever. For instance, if students are fully aware of the detrimental effects of drug addiction, they will be less likely to experiment with drugs. Moreover, instilling moral values will enrich students ’ lives as they will find it really rewarding to aid people in need and are more likely to engage in voluntary as well as charitable activities such as providing food and clothes to the poor or giving textbooks to underprivileged children. On the other hand, other people assert that the function of teachers should be only about teaching students academic knowledge. They believe that showing children how to behave is the role of parents as they understand their children more than teachers. Furthermore, in today’s job market, it is undoubted that knowledge is paramount to career success since most jobs require a high level of knowledge and expertise from employees. Hence, focusing on academic subjects will increase students ' employability in the future and alleviate unemployment, contributing to a country’s prosperity as well as societal security as people who have lucrative jobs are less inclined to commit crimes. In conclusion, a balanced focus on both academic subjects and moral values is imperative for a comprehensive education. By integrating these aspects, students can develop not only the knowledge and skills needed for success but also the ethical foundation for a meaningful life."