In the past, many people had skills such as making their own clothes and doing repairs to things in the house. In many countries, nowadays, skills like these are disappearing. Why do you think this change is happening? How far is this situation true in your country?

In the olden days, the majority of individuals were multi-talented but as point passed the idea of expertise in more fields became an old fashioned one. Nowadays, people pay attention to establishing a single career and are less inclined towards being a polymath. To begin with, in the past, local people had a huge amount of generation compared with these days. Thus, they had much generation to master a new skill. However, at present, life in urban cities is much fast-paced. Therefore, they don’t want to indulge themselves in learning DIY (Do it yourself) skills. Secondly, the major factor for the decrease in the trend is because earlier it was difficult to find experienced labour. Currently, professional and inexpensive labour is easily found. Additionally, it also requires a lot of effort to learn a new ability. In spite of, this dweller spends the season to efficiently increase the existing skill. To put it eloquently, in the early days, females used to sew their own clothes. But this positive trend began to sharply reduce when branded clothes hit the market. As a result, people started to buy from markets as it was affordable and required no struggle. Lastly, in my country, Pakistan, there is gradual disappearance, but the majority of people still possess these skills. For instance, my grandparents knew to plough, stitch his clothes and even about plumbing. In contrast, I only know a little about plumbing. Hence, skills are vanishing because me or my parents had not intended to learn those skills. To conclude, human beings possessed a plethora of traditional skills, but now these are dying rapidly because of the industrialization process. In addition, people don’t get much moment or they want to establish a healthier lifestyle with single career. However, in my opinion, we should learn more skills so that we should not be dependent on others.