Globalization | #ForeignTrade - Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development? (IELTS 10, AC)

Recent years have seen the world turning into a global village -- as a result people's ability to shop identical goods and services from anywhere they are. Notwithstanding, whether this current development is a boon or a drawback is a debatable point. Apparently, the exponents that postulate that today's fast spreading technology has been influencing the people across the globe to buy similar things due to a fancy trend -- have their justification. Put differently, the spread of materialistic things such as: fashion and accessories; furniture and architecture; food and recipes have changed the country's cultural rituals. Consequently, all societies around the universe accept the modern and western cultures in their lives, including from foods to professions. As a result of this, the globe has started to become a tiny village by loosing its diversity of cultures, languages and customs. To exemplify, according to a survey published by The New York Times in 2016, 30% of the population accepted the new trend of modernization. However, taking a look from the flip side, could a new change bring the countries closer to each other and make the economy stronger? Certainly, it follows that the world can be a smaller by enhancing import-export business by increasing transportation modes such as: Air, water and road, but that kind of development not only leads to the extra cost to consumers, but also leaves the fuel emission in our environment, which is responsible for a tremendous amount of carbon footprint across the planet. Moreover, in the race of quality versus the quantity, this kind of advancement can lead to only low quality merchandise that cause negative evolution. To conclude, having explored both vantage points, I personally consent to the hilt that the globalisation encourages people to be similar to others in all aspects of life; nonetheless, this foreign trend is responsible for loosing own cultures and languages. Thus, a community should use local products as much as possible and be aware of changes around the globe.