Some people say the fashion industry has a bad effect on people’s lives. Do you agree?

A faction of the society believes in the importance of keeping up with the latest fashion trends. However, critics also argue on the various negative impacts fashion and glamour industries have on an individual's life. I strongly agree with the latter view and through this essay will explore the harmful effects of the fashion industry. Firstly, keeping pace with the latest trends in fashion, leads to an extremely expensive lifestyle. In addition, not only does buying new clothes to revamp a wardrobe becomes a massive expense, but also adds to wastage. Moreover, with trends changing every season, this further leads to excessive and sometimes compulsive buying. For example, an extensive study revealed that clothes bought at a fashion show were hardly worn more than once. Secondly, it has been observed that people who value fashion trends tend to wrongly judge others by their appearance alone. As cited by many, a book should not be judged by its cover. Similarly, a person should not be given merit on only their looks, however the values of honesty, kindness and the high level of thinking should be ranked much higher. To illustrate further, many marriages that were based on the outer appearance of a person, have seen a substantially higher divorce rate. This is a clear indication of the pitfalls of being influenced by and glamour. To conclude, it is clearly evident that the fashion industry is having a detrimental effect on people who blindly follow it. I strongly advocate that people should value quality over outer facade when making their decisions.