In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The rising popularity of free e-books and online newspapers has raised a question whether paperback books and magazines will disappear in the near future. From my point of view, real books cannot be replaced by the beneficial digital platforms, although there is an estimated downward trend of the printing industry. This essay will investigate the issue further to conclude a suitable answer. On the one hand, there are irrefutable benefits of using free books on the internet as it is more affordable and environmentally friendly. Reading texts on a digital platform can reduce the large amount of natural resources are being exploited to manufacture paper. Furthermore, online textbooks are more appropriate to an average student's budget as they are cheaper in price. For example, many college students prefer digital books due to their lightweight and low-cost natures. Therefore, an upward trend of e-books consumptions is visible during the modern era. On the other hand, printed books still play a major impact on the information industry as they are bringing a fortune to authors and being favoured by many people. Firstly, many writers fulfil their daily necessities by their book sales. Therefore, downloading a free online version of the books is a method of stealing their work and threaten the authors' incomes. Thus, a myriad of readers likes the idea of flipping through pages, smelling the books and feeling the covers by their hands. As a result, readers continue to buy paperback books to support the author. For instance, even internet users have posted numerous online versions of Haruki Murakami's popular works in various languages, his passionate fans still go to bookstores and buy the real books. Moreover, elders and people with bad eyesight are also more interested in printed books and magazines as they can't interact with computers and tablets for a long period of time. In other words, customers still support the printed goods due to their preferences and for the authors' sakes. In conclusion, I strongly believe that although digital platforms will transform the method of reading greatly and bring advantages, printed books will not be eradicated in the future as they are favoured moderately by many voracious readers.